A brief history of TLH Leisure Resort
The history of TLH Leisure Resort goes back to 1947 when the Murrell family first started the business as a 28 bedroom hotel. Laurence Murrell retired in 2018, after 40 years at the helm and the company is now owned and managed by three of the senior managers, Jason Garside, John Finnegan and Ian Piercy.
TLH Derwent Hotel
The Murrell family took ownership of what was the Derwent Hotel in 1947, when it was a boarded up building containing just 28 bedrooms, considerably less than the 175 we have today! Food, of course, was also rationed and the first guests had to bring their ration coupons with them!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Much like the TLH Derwent Hotel, the TLH Victoria Hotel has a long history of growth and change. The name itself has been shortened from the original name of ‘The Victoria and Albert Hotel’, created shortly after Prince Albert’s death in 1861. In 1978 the Victoria became the second hotel of the group.
TLH Toorak Hotel
Toorak is an Aboriginal word meaning ‘The swamps where the tea tree grows’. Luckily our TLH Toorak Hotel is built on sturdier ground! The Murrell family took over the Toorak in 1986 and a year later it became part of Torquay Leisure Hotels, which at this time had the Derwent and Victoria as members.
TLH Carlton Hotel
The history of the original Carlton building dates back to 1878 when it was known as the Belgrave Hall. It became the final addition to the group in 1992 and today has the closest links to our luxury Aztec Spa, Pool, Gym & Fitness Studio.
Finally in 2000 the company adopted the name TLH Leisure Resort to sum up the experience of holidaying in a resort complex, combining an outstanding choice of accommodation, leisure and entertainment on a single site. A name now synonymous with great value holidays.